Log in

No account? Create an account
James Brown: Live at the Apollo, Vol. 2 - you wait here and I'll bring the etchings down [entries|archive|friends|userinfo]
collating bones

[ website | lacunae ]
[ userinfo | livejournal userinfo ]
[ archive | journal archive ]

James Brown: Live at the Apollo, Vol. 2 [Jul. 3rd, 2001|07:59 am]
collating bones
The newly expanded version, in the "three-set" format he was following in those days. The first set's the slightly embarrassing attempt to go Vegas ("I Wanna Be Around," "That's Life"), plus a boom-ka-boom version of "Think" with the incredible Marva Whitney; the second one's 19 min. of "It's A Man's Man's Man's World. And then we get the full-on "Star Time" set, with that "Let Yourself Go"/"There Was a Time"/"I Feel All Right"/"Cold Sweat" sequence that blazes on and on and on. Plus: Bobby Byrd buying his boss some time!